I Admit It! (re-post)

It’s been a long time since I have gotten a speeding ticket. Mostly that’s because I don’t speed much anymore. There was a time, though, when I was pushing the limits of allowable demerit points. But even then I didn’t complain or criticize the cops when I was pulled over; I knew the rules and I knew I was breaking them. But I have a young friend who, when he was apprehended for some misdemeanor, soundly cursed the authorities who caught him. Even when I challenged him on the fact that he was doing something illegal he still maintained that he had been unduly targeted.

In studying the book of Revelation one of the aspects of that book that many have trouble with is the wrath of God. I think that one of the primary reasons we may have such a hard time reconciling the wrath of God as expressed in Revelation is, much like my young friend, we have a skewed perception of our own rightness. We are, in essence, saying that it is God who has the problem not us, and so we dismiss or ignore Revelation or even God.

What we need is a better understanding of God’s rightness and our “wrongness” or shortcomings. The amazing thing about this, though, is that unlike the police officer, God does not demand that we measure up to his standard. He knows we can’t. Instead he offers, through Christ and by faith to impart to us Jesus’ own rightness as our own. That what Easter is all about: Jesus giving his perfect life and taking on himself our self-justifying “wrongness.”

Even in Revelation, in the middle of some of the worst things that are going to happen we find that God is giving us a warning, like a final plea, to acknowledge our wrongness and accept his grace. (See chapter 9 verses 20 & 21) But still people refuse and insist it is God who’s got the problem.

The heaven that God finally brings to earth at the end of Revelation is intended for everyone, but can only enjoyed by those who have admitted their wrongness and accepted God’s rightness that comes to us through faith in Jesus Christ. Have you admitted it yet?

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

