This Blog Has Been Commandeered

If you’re reading this article you should know that another author took over for the week.  I’m the writer’s wife, Wendy.  I asked if I could have this space this week so that I could share an important message with you.

This past year, working at the Vernon Live Well Clinic for Sexual Health & Pregnancy Association I was often asked about what’s available to present to the youth about sex.  That’s right, I said it.. “sex”.  Those conversations are not always comfortable, some of us come from backgrounds where you didn’t talk about sex, drugs or other awkward topics.  That needs to change.  We need to build those trust relationships and then pause.  The definition of PAUSE is as follows:  interrupt action or speech briefly.  Synonyms: stop, cease, halt, discontinue, break off, take a break; adjourn, rest, wait; informal take a breather, take five…”  I am reminded that if I don’t stop, I don’t have to think.  I believe that applies to everyone.  I long for our youth to take a moment before making a decision that can affect them for a lifetime.  Let’s teach them to think critically.  My challenge to you is to become aware of what’s going on in the youth culture and to invite conversations.  I can tell you that if you don’t take responsibility for their sex ed, their peers and the internet are readily available.  What I do know is that taking the time to truly listen so our youth feel “felt” makes a difference.  PS that requires leaving your judgemental inclination at the door.   If you are lacking resources, feel free to contact me through email: wendyberg1@gmail.com.

Proverbs 5: 1-2 (MSG) “Dear friend, pay close attention to this, my wisdom; listen very closely to the way I see it.  Then you’ll acquire a taste for good sense; what I tell you will keep you out of trouble.”

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

