God Works In Ordinary Ways Too

God works in mysterious ways, or so goes the saying. But if you’re paying attention you will see him work in the simple and ordinary too. For example a couple of days ago God gently inspired Wendy to buy me some chocolate ice cream as a treat, though she didn’t realize it at the time.  How do I know God inspired her? Let me explain.

As I write this it’s Monday, deadline day for the this article for the Star, but the day had kind of gotten away from me. I was finally about to settle in to write something but my stomach reminded me that I hadn’t had lunch yet.  That was when I remembered the ice cream.  I know, one more distraction, but God was in that too.  He was also in the impulse I had to make some chocolate fudge sauce to put on the ice cream.

I know he was because that’s what moved me to walk to the church to get the half-and-half I’d left there and needed to make the sauce. (Confused yet? Stick with me.)

When I stepped outside I saw Lori, a neighbor from around the corner, talking on her phone outside her car that was stopped in the middle of the intersection.  Concerned there was something wrong I went to investigate.

Turns out she’d noticed the front door of another of our neighbors wide open and their little miniature pinscher in the street still with the retractable leash on.  When she tried to catch him he took off into the field and disappeared.  So when I saw her she was on the phone discovering that the neighbors were out looking for their dog.

To make matters worse, they had only just gotten this little thing the night before and he was still just learning where home was.  So if we didn’t find him, with the temperature dropping to -19 tonight there’s no way he’s survive.

I’m not much of a tracker, but even I could pick up his trail in the fresh snow with him dragging that retractable leash.  We found him cowering and shivering under a camper and Lori was able dive into the snow and nab the leash when I flushed him from under the camper.  He was shivering like crazy but otherwise fine.

Now, if Wendy hadn’t “happened” to impulsively buy me the ice cream, and I didn’t have a sudden craving for it today, and then have this whim to make chocolate sauce, I wouldn’t have stepped outside just at the right moment to connect with Lori to save this little dog.

Coincidence? Nope, just God working in simple ordinary ways.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

