Pursuing What’s Most Valuable

I’m a pretty competitive guy.  Just ask my boys.  They weren’t very old when I quit letting them win at stuff . . . like when they turned two.  Of course when it came to video games it wasn’t very long after that that they wouldn’t let me win either.  But apparently I wasn’t always like that.

Mom and Dad enrolled us kids in organized soccer when I was seven or eight.  I remember that we played for a couple of summers and I can vaguely recall driving to the field for games, but I don’t have much memory of actually playing.  That may be because I was what you might describe as easily distracted.

I’m told that at times the whole knot of kids from both teams would be chasing the ball up the field but something in the grass would have caught my attention and I’d be on my hands and knees completely oblivious to the game and the coach yelling at me from the sidelines “David!! Go get the ball!!” I guess playing soccer just wasn’t important enough to me at the time.

That illustrates an important Biblical truth: we pursue what is most important to us.  That’s the point Jesus was making when he said that your heart will be where your treasure is.

In 1Timothy 6:11 we’re urged to pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance and gentleness.  It’s not primarily speaking about behavior, though behavior will be a by-product of this pursuit.  Rather it points toward pursuing the nature of God which is imparted to us through faith in the fact that Jesus is the Son of God and through his death and resurrection has paid the price for our sin.

Many of you reading this would give mental assent to that truth, but let me ask you a tough question: What does your life say about how important that is to you?  What do you spend the majority of your time pursuing?

Far too much of our lives, mine included, have been spent poking around in the grass over trivial and ultimately unimportant things while what’s really important and eternally significant is moving away from us. I’ve decided I want to be where the action is.  I want to be involved in what God is doing bringing hope and purpose to my life and the lives of people around me.

You can too, right where you are.  God will use you right in your circumstances if you’ll give your life to him to use for his glory.  It’s time to pursue what’s important.  It’s time to get in the game.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

