Learning The Law

I once rented a car from Jesus.  No really.  That was the name on his card.  Of course he pronounced it Hesus.  We were in Merida, Mexico on the Gulf Coast.  The little house were staying at was about an hour away of just outside of the port city of Progresso and the only way to get there was to rent a car.

I had heard all the horror stories about how there aren’t any rules when driving in Mexico.  So I was slightly apprehensive.  And to make matters worse the rental place was right in the middle of the city.  So after carefully plotting our route and Wendy in the navigator’s spot with map spread out on her knees, I cautiously eased into traffic.

At first it seemed rather chaotic.  The lines marking the lanes were apparently mostly a suggestion, and even then signalling seemed to be on a need to know basis.  In Canada we generally only use our horns if we’re mad at someone, but there honking was a normal and frequent means of communication.  But I figured they were honking in Spanish because I didn’t have a clue what they were trying to tell me.

After a tense twenty minute commute, where thanks to the grace of God and my navigator’s directions we didn’t make any wrong turns, we made it out onto the relatively orderly flow of traffic on the open highway.  But after a few days and some trips into the smaller city of Progresso I began to understand the different rules that governed Mexican roads and even began to appreciate some of the efficiencies of their system.  And they weren’t honking in Spanish after all.

In hindsight I’ve realized that by getting to know the laws or rules that govern a foreign culture I gained a greater understanding and appreciation for that culture.  I’m convinced this is why over and over in the Psalms David expresses how much he loves the law of God.  In Psalm 119:97, for example, he says “Oh, how I love your law! I meditate on it all day long.”

Now he’s not just talking about the Ten Commandments, but all the writings of Moses, which make up the first five books of our Bible.  By studying and meditating he is getting to know God better because the scriptures are an expression of God’s nature and character.

So I encourage you, start reading your Bible.  Maybe even find a small group to study it with.  You’ll be amazed at how much better you know and understand God.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

