Keep Checking Your Heading

Back in the “olden days” of farming I didn’t have the capabilities to program my GPS.  With the current model I just type in the heading I want and it sets it up for me.  But in a bygone era I would have to line it up by sight, press a button to set the first mark, drive as straight as I could till the GPS established my heading, and then press the button again to lock it in.  I know, pretty primitive huh?

Normally this wasn’t a big deal, but if for some reason I had to work a field that had already been started I would try to line myself up with the already established pass that I knew was true and go through the process hoping to get the exact same heading as the original.  This was almost impossible.  It may have looked very close to lined up as I began the field, but by the time I reached the far end there was almost always a gap between what I just worked and the original.

A degree or two off didn’t make a noticeable difference in the first fifty yards or so, but a mile down the field it became very clear that I’d missed the mark.

This is how a person drifts away from God.  We allow things of lesser importance to take priority and our alignment with God gets thrown off a degree or two. These things may be “small” sins or even good things that we allow to consume our time and energy. It’s hardly noticeable at first but a month or two or a year down the road something comes up and we realize our intimacy with God is missing.

I’ve found I need to check my alignment with God even more than daily.  I need to start every day with scripture and prayer, and then often through the day be in connection with him and consciously dependant on his provision for each situation.

When a person lives this way, not perfectly but consistently, the unthinkable can happen and though everything else in life is shaken, their foundation is not.  Please don’t think I’m suggesting life’s heartaches are felt any less intensely.  There are dark days where the “if only’s” and “I should have’s” assail and tears are never far away.  The empty spaces are acute, and the “why!!??”  screamed skyward hangs unanswered in the air.

But in the midst of all that and far more than can be described, a person who has been living in alignment with God will be sustained and still know to his core that God is sovereign, God is faithful, and God is good.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

2 responses to “Keep Checking Your Heading

Leave a Reply

