Your Most Important Achievement

I used to say that I could still keep up with the young guys but it just took me longer to recover.  These days it just takes me longer to recover.  There’s and old saying that goes “Those who can do, those who can’t coach.”  For those of you who don’t know I help coach bantam football and for me and at least one other of our coaching staff that rings all too true, but there is some good news for guys like us.

I’ve come to realize that my most significant achievement in life is not what I personally accomplish but what I equip and empower others to do.

The easy proof of this concept is in coaching.  I could, at least early in the season, go put on the pads and accomplish more in the game than most of the players.  (Remember, I’m coaching grade 8’s and 9’s, believe me this isn’t bragging.)  But I wouldn’t have achieved anything of significance.  But if instead I teach and train and discipline the kids and they go out and are successful, that’s meaningful.  To say nothing of the deeper life lessons and character that has been built along the way.

Parenting too is a good example.  My most important role in life is preparing and equipping my boys to be godly, courageous men of character and integrity in facing whatever challenges and adversity life brings.

It may sound like it’s stating the obvious, but this equipping and empowering can only happen when I enter into a relationship with someone.  Whether it’s my children, my players, or anyone else I have to make myself available, accessible, and vulnerable to effectively build into others.  I need to sacrifice my own personal interests in order to be able to give to others.

This is a pattern that God established and initiated, and it’s expressed best to us in Christ.  I’ve quoted this before, but it bears repeating: He lived his life for the well-being of others at any cost to himself, including death.

That relationship with God continues as, through his Spirit, he equips and empowers those who have submitted to him as King of their lives to take on whatever adversities come into their lives.  And he gives to them that same ministry of introducing others to the greatest “coach.”

What are you primarily living for?  Is it to achieve great things for yourself?  You’ll find far greater fulfillment and satisfaction through living your life for the well-being of others at any cost to yourself.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

