Recycled Weakness

It had been about eight months that I had been preaching. Though I had been to Bible School, I had not really been trained as a preacher, and what training I’d had was many years before. So when my buddy Greg said somewhat tongue-in-cheek, “You should have it easy now, you’ve been preaching long enough that you can just recycle your sermons; none of us remember what you said back then anyway,” I seriously considered it.

On that note I have a confession to make. Some of the articles that I have submitted to Danny (the publisher of the Western Star, a local paper out here) for publication have been recycled from earlier post. I know, this must come as a terrible shock to some of you, and you’ll never be able to read one of these the same again. But there is a bright side.

From time to time someone will stop me in the store, or give me a phone call, or I’ll hear second hand from a friend how one of these articles met that particular person right where they were at and was something they needed to hear as though it were written just for them.

What’s amazing is that some of the most significant feedback has been from some of those recycled posts. I’ll come to Sunday afternoon when I normally write the column, and for whatever reason I’m just empty. Nothing is coming and I don’t even know where to start. So I ask God “is it ok if I re-use an old one?” If I receive his peace about it, I’ll go through the files and find one that resonates with where I’m at, maybe tweak it a little, and send it off. I can’t tell you how often it’s those articles that really connect with someone.

I’m telling you this because in those occasions especially the truth of God’s strength in my weakness becomes evident. Paul says to the Corinthian church “I will gladly boast about my weakness so that Christ’s power may rest upon me.” My goal is to always write from that dependence but in those it becomes particularly obvious that it’s not my great skill or wisdom or anything else from me that has met a need in someone else. It’s God.

The challenge to me and my challenge to you is to enter every situation from that position of weakness and dependence. Then I can genuinely “for Christ’s sake, delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Cor 12:10

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, no I didn’t follow Greg’s suggestion.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

One response to “Recycled Weakness

Leave a Reply

