Spending My Blessings

It’s time to get back in the field and I love cultivating. I like seeing the perfectly straight lines behind me. (Yes I cheat and use a GPS). I like watching the hawks circle and dive for the mice I scare up.  I like seeing the weeds taken down.  And I love the smell and look of a freshly turned field. But I especially like the solitude.

That may sound strange coming from a preacher but my personality type is one that gets rejuvenated from being alone.  A significant part of that rejuvenation is being able to commune with God.  Now I will admit that by the end of seeding I’m ready to get out of the tractor, but for a time it’s a wonderful blessing that I have the privilege doing a couple times a year.

But that blessing isn’t just for me.  The blessings that God gives to me he does so with the intent that I turn and bless others.  So the energizing that I receive from my time of solitude God intends for me to spend for the well-being of others.  The joy I receive in communing with him I am to pass on and bring joy to people I encounter day to day.

Any gift or blessing that we receive from God is never intended to be held or hoarded for ourselves.  We receive in order to give. What God gifts to us we spend on others.

What have you been blessed with?  Has God given you a loving family?  Then love others, especially those who are unloved.  Has God enabled you to earn money? Share with those who are in need.  Are you blessed with good health?  Care for the ailing.  You get the idea.

But here’s one more you may not have thought of: Has God given you the gift of adversity?  Then support and care for others who are going through difficult times.

2 Corinthians 1:3-5 says “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort,  who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.  For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows.”

Maybe you’re not sure what blessings God has given you.  This much I know; they start and end with Jesus.  Go ask him.  When you discover them, go on a spending spree.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

2 responses to “Spending My Blessings

Leave a Reply

