Better Than a Bucket-List

I got to swim with sharks!

We went to visit our son and daughter (in-law) who currently serve at a church in Hope Town, Bahamas. While Andrew and I were snorkelling we came across four black tip sharks, the biggest of which was about 5 feet long.  I suppose saying swim “with” isn’t exactly accurate.  They were swimming away from us and we were trying to keep up to them.  We did manage to follow them around for a couple of minutes but what a thrill.  If I believed in bucket lists this definitely would have been on it.

I can hear some of you say “what do you mean if you believed in bucket lists?  Isn’t a bucket list a positive thing?”  Having a bucket list isn’t wrong per se.  Actually there are many, many things that someday I would like to do.  However I don’t expect and neither is it important to me that I do all or even any of them before I “kick the bucket”.  (Hence the name “bucket list” for those who didn’t know.)

You see, I know that in heaven I’ll be able to actually swim with sharks and all those other things that would be on my list if I had one.  Many of us have bought into a flawed picture of heaven that has us playing harps and sitting in robes for all eternity.  But as much as the Garden of Eden was a place of activity and exploration, so too will the renewed Eden be.  So I’ll have more than all the time in the world to complete my list and even to keep coming up with new items.

But there’s another reason I don’t have a list that is even more important; my life isn’t my own to determine what I do with it.  I am a servant of Jesus Christ and as such my whole life is at his disposal.  Because he died for me and I, by faith have accepted his death in place of the one I deserved, he now lives his life through me.  This means he makes the list.

But in case you think this is a huge sacrifice, don’t worry, his list is far more exciting and fulfilling than anything I would come up with, and living out his list for me results in praise and glory to God.  That is the greatest thing I can do.

So go ahead and have a list, but if you let Jesus make it for you it won’t be over when you kick the bucket.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

