God’s Purpose in Gender Roles

You would think that after twenty-six and a half years of marriage I would have gotten this relationship thing down pat and I’d know exactly what to do at exactly the right time and Wendy would respond in exactly the way I expect. The problem with that theory is that we are both growing and changing.  So the adventure continues.

We are, however, getting better and better at working through the changes.  That’s happening, in part, because as I look deeper into scripture I’m coming to a better understanding of the roles God created male and female for. (I think Wendy has always innately had a better grasp of that.)  I see two foundational roles in God’s design and I’ve put these roles in the form of questions.

Before I list those, let me say that the ways in which these roles are expressed are innumerable and will differ from person to person.  These roles do not pigeon hole a man or a woman to say you have to be this or you can’t be that.  By foundational I mean the prime purpose of human beings, relating to God and relating to each other as male and female.  This purpose is true in all of relating, but it’s most clearly expressed in the husband wife relationship.

When our boys tell us about a girl they’ve begun to develop an interest in the question I’ve come to ask is “Does she inspire you to follow and love Jesus more or does she distract you from him?”  In other words does her lifestyle, her conversation, the way in which she expresses interest in you inspire in you a greater passion for Jesus?

If we’d had girls I would ask them this: “Does the way this guy treats you heighten your awareness of how much God loves you, or does it mostly focus on the guy?”  In other words does he draw your attention to God in what he says, his integrity, in how he puts your best interests ahead of his own?

God’s beautiful design is that as each relationship is deepened, male to God and male to female and female to God and female to male, it deepens and strengthens the other.  The better my relationship with God the better I’ll relate to my wife, and the better my relationship with my wife the better I’ll know God.

I would not be the man I am without Wendy daily inspiring me to pursue God more passionately.  Thank you my dear, let the adventure continue…

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

3 responses to “God’s Purpose in Gender Roles

  • Rae

    I really appreciate a discussion of gender roles as it relates to spirituality that includes the phrase “the ways in which these roles are expressed are innumerable and will differ from person to person. These roles do not pigeon hole a man or a woman to say you have to be this or you can’t be that.”

    • David Berg

      Somehow over the centuries we’ve missed that the creation account when God says he will make a “suitable helper” for the man the word helper is the same word David in the Psalms uses to say God is his helper. That indicates that this “suitable helper” is not an just and assistant to look after the little things while the man looks after the big things. This is a being who’s strengths are complimentary indispensable to the man’s. And even so was not created primarily to meet the man’s needs but rather in unity and union with the man to bring glory to God. “So God created human beings in his own image . . . male and female he created them.” – Genesis 1:27

  • Kathy Blatz

    Thanks, again, for an excellent article on a subject that is so important. I wish I could have read this article before our girls got married or left home. However, I feel very blessed that all three of our girls have accepted Jesus as their Saviour and are involved in serving Him in their churches and community! Two out of three are married to fine Christian men. God is faithful in ‘maximizing the minimum’ and He has answered so many prayers for us even though I felt very inadequate as a mother, when our girls were growing up. God is still answering our prayers as we pray for our 4 grandchildren (ages 5-12) and each one has also asked Jesus ‘into their heart’! PTL

    Kathy

Leave a Reply

