The Fingerprints of God

I can’t tell you who first coined the term “fingerprints of God” but the idea is a good one.  The concept is that all around us, in the ordinary, mundane of every day there is evidence of the activity of God at work in our lives if we will pay attention to it.  The problem is too often we‘re oblivious to God.

Recently I was in Red Deer to visit someone in the hospital, and then get some groceries and gas.  My original thought was that after the visit I would get both gas and groceries from Costco since gas was cheapest there, but as I left the hospital  I changed my mind and went to Superstore for groceries instead and then to Costco for gas.

When I got to Costco the parking lot was packed and any open spot already had a couple of cars waiting to get in.  I found a spot but it was about as far from the doors as you could get.  It wasn’t until I was out of the truck and on my trek to the distant doors that it occurred to me I had only come there for gas.  Even though I kicked myself for my absent mindedness I decided I go into the store anyway if for nothing else than the free food samples.

I ended up buying a snow shovel and as I got through the checkout met a friend I hadn’t seen for some time so chatted for a bit.  As we said goodbye I saw the line to get out stretched way back to the eating area.  Apparently there was someone new checking receipts and he was very slow.  I grumbled a bit in my head as the line shuffled towards the door.

On to get gas, and of course I picked the line where the guy in front of me couldn‘t get his card to work.  More grumbling under my breath till I finally reached the pump.

I was finally just seconds from getting out of town when my son texted me saying that he‘d like to connect. He lives in Red Deer and it had been a while so I suggested I take him for supper.  That‘s when it hit me.  If I hadn‘t been absent minded, or met the friend, or had a long line, or picked the wrong pump, I would have been long gone and missed the chance to connect with my son.

Some say coincidence, I see God‘s fingerprints.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

2 responses to “The Fingerprints of God

  • Kathy (Hamm) Blatz

    That is so true! I have had ‘God moments’ (as I refer them to), that just leave me shaking my head and speechless. No one but God could orchestrate some of the happenings just because I had a feeling, a nudge, to which I almost audible argued with, because it made no sense….and yet when I follow that nudging, God has orchestrated for me to meet someone that needed to be encouraged or that encouraged me….at just the right time. Thank you for your timely and inspirational writings.

Leave a Reply

