Will Heaven Have Snow?

I am so ready for spring!  Of course I’ve been saying that since November.  Some people really like winter, and I used to, but I must be getting old because I’m ready for it to end earlier and earlier every year.  I still enjoy all the winter activities, but I think I could live without them if it meant no more cold.

I wonder if there will be winter in heaven.  Have you ever thought about that?  I have found myself thinking about heaven a lot more the last few years.  I read a fascinating book called simply, “Heaven,” by Randy Alcorn, and while I don’t necessarily agree with everything he suggests, much of it is sound.

He begins by challenging us to evaluate what we have thought about heaven in light of what scripture actually says.  Set aside what you have always believed and read with an open mind what the Bible really says about heaven.  On the things that Scripture affirms by all means pick up those old beliefs but I think you will be pleasantly surprised by what is left behind and even more by what you discover.

Let me give you an example.  We usually think that heaven will be somewhere up in the sky and totally new and unfamiliar.  Scripture actually teaches that the New Jerusalem will come down to a renewed earth.  (Check out Revelation 21, especially verse 2 & 3).  This means that there will be a renewed and recognizable Alberta though it certainly will be better and even more beautiful than what we know now.

Or this: I used to think when Revelation 22:3 talked about serving God in heaven it was just one long church service.  But if satisfying and refreshing creative work was part of Eden, does it not make sense that it will be as well on the renewed Earth?

All of this is a moot point though, if you are not going to be there, and here we get to the heart of the matter.  Do you know whether you will be there?  How can you know?  Chapter 21 in Revelation records that God says that all who are victorious will be His children.  The obvious question then is who are the victorious?  In the first chapter of John we are told that everyone that believes who Jesus is and who follow him have been given the right to become children of God.

Will there be snow in heaven? I don’t really know.  But I know I will be.  Will you?

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

