25 Years of Marriage

This week I celebrate 25 years of marriage to my favorite lady in the entire world.  With that in mind I hope you will pardon me if I abandon my usual format and indulge in telling you about some of the reasons I love this wonderful woman I have the privilege and joy of calling my wife.

I have to be honest, the first thing that made me notice this tall and slender beauty was, well, she was tall, slender and gorgeous!  Some say physical beauty fades but I would suggest to you that it merely transforms.  Wendy doesn’t look exactly like that 20 year old I married; she’s more beautiful now than ever.

But it is true that beauty only goes so far, and I quickly learned that Wendy is completely devoted to God.  Some people mistakenly believe that a wife’s first allegiance ought to be to her husband and vice-versa.  This is wrong first and foremost because God is worthy of her loyalty far more than I.  But beyond that, because Wendy’s affection is to God first she is then better able to love me.  Because God is first in her life he enables her to love me to depths and degrees that she never could on her own.  A woman, or a man for that matter, is far more attractive when their first devotion is to God and second to their spouse.

If you were to spend much time in conversation with my wife it wouldn’t take you long to recognize that she is a woman who passionately cares for people, particularly those who have been abused, or oppressed and taken advantage of.  She has a strong sense of justice but an even stronger drive to protect and care for the hurting ones.  She loves to help bring healing and wholeness, drawing out the full beauty of people who have been wounded.

Maybe the most compelling thing for me about Wendy is that she has seen me at my worst and still chooses to love me.  She knows my weaknesses and failings, my shortcomings and ugly sinfulness that hides in the shadows yet still she daily chooses to love me.

This list is only just a beginning, but in each characteristic I see the person and nature of Jesus.  Admittedly the expression isn’t perfect, but the reality, and this by God’s design, is that I know and experience the love of Jesus better because of how Wendy loves me.

Wendy I love you.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

