(Don’t)Stop Me If You’ve Heard This Before

Pastoring wasn’t my first occupation, wasn’t even my first choice of careers.  I had been out of Bible School for almost 10 years before a small country church in Golden Prairie, Saskatchewan took a huge leap of faith and hired me to be their new pastor.  I hadn’t really preached a sermon before beginning there so you can imagine that weekly sermon prep was a real challenge.  After we’d been there about six months my friend Greg suggested I’d been there long enough I could just start preaching the first ones over again since no one would remember what I’d said back then anyway.

I was reminded of that this week because I kinda feel like I’ve been preaching not the same sermons, but undoubtedly a recurring theme.  Regardless of what book in the Bible we are studying the theme of the centrality of Jesus to every detail of life keeps coming up; the awareness of his presence, his involvement and guiding, literally living his life through me, and developing within myself an increasing desire for him that supersedes every other desire.

I was momentarily concerned that some may be tiring of the message and maybe wished I would move on until I thought about it in this perspective.  My newlywed son and daughter (in-law) are staying with us till they leave for a two year term at a church in the Bahamas.  (I gotta figure out how to get a gig like that!)  Needless to say there’re a lot of kisses and I love you’s and such going on in our house.  The cynic would say “give it a few months.”  The cynic would be wrong.

The truth is there’s been a lot of that stuff going on in our house for the last 25 years.  I never tire of hearing Wendy tell me she loves me or the hundreds of ways she shows it.  I love hearing the special beep on my phone that tells me she was thinking of me and sent me a message.  And yes, I even do the silly emoticons with the hugs and kisses and nonsense.  But if I were to tire of that I would have some serious concerns for my marriage.

The same is true with Jesus.  To paraphrase of Lamentations 3:21-24, the love and mercy of God never gets old because he renews it every morning, and I’ll never tire of telling you about it.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

One response to “(Don’t)Stop Me If You’ve Heard This Before

  • Lori

    I just never tired of your sermons in GP & still crave to hear one from you! Love the article, so very relevant for every day of my life 😉 and I wonder which couple in your household is more mushy!! The apples never fall far from the tree.

Leave a Reply

