Count The Cost

I’ve had enough. For much of my life when I have talked to people about what Jesus has done for them I have unnecessarily felt like I need to convince them a) that they need a savior and b) how much better life is as a Jesus follower. It has only been relatively recently that I have begun to set aside my “sales pitch” and to simply and boldly present Jesus, including the cost. Jesus lived and died to offer you the inexpressible joy and pleasure that comes from being friends with God, now and forever. But it will cost you everything; it means that all that you are, all that you have, your dreams and ambitions, your leisure, your rights are all surrendered to God’s disposal for the privilege of knowing him.
Let me give you an example. I was working at a Bible Camp/retreat center north of Edmonton in charge of the horse program. In the off-season the camp was rented to various groups and I would help in food service. That’s just a fancy way of saying I did a lot of dishes. This was a two person job. One guy would rinse the dishes and load them onto racks that would be moved through a tunnel with the various stages of washing till they came out the other end where the second person unloaded and set them out to dry.
Our janitor worked with me on this. He didn’t do it right. He was slow getting things rinsed and then didn’t load the racks full, meaning we had to run many more racks than necessary. I’ve always disliked dishes anyway, so it drove me nuts doing dishes with him. To make it worse, he always took the front end job.
So I made a point of getting in first and then pushing racks through as fast I could. I’d let him have his turn on the front end but made a point of making it painfully obvious that I had to wait for him to get racks through. My rationale was that I was better, had been doing it longer, and had seniority at the camp. He should follow my lead. I was well within my rights.
I needed to learn to give up my rights to serve him as Jesus had for me. Philippians 2:3-4 says “Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand. “(MSG)

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

