Life would be great if only. . .

What would it take to make your life work? I mean what would have to change so that your life would be satisfying and fulfilling; so that you could be content? I’m not even talking about pie in the sky type of stuff like winning the lottery or something outrageous like that. Maybe it’s something simple like for your kids to start getting along, or even nobler, if they would begin to follow Jesus. Maybe it’s your own walk with God; if you could just stop sinning. Maybe it’s a career goal or a new career altogether. It could even be your health or if you could just lose those pounds and get rid of that gut then . . .
These things are what the Bible calls idolatry. Not in and of themselves, but when we depend on them or the acquiring of them for our satisfaction in life they become to us idols. Every one of us struggles with idolatry. Let me give you a personal example.
I have been working on a course in counseling, not the psychoanalytical sort of counseling, but counseling that is based on relationship. I’m really sold on this approach and my goal has been to become certified to teach it. A number of months ago I heard about a new ministry that aims to equip young men and women to be spiritual leaders. I was very impressed with what they wanted to do but here’s the really cool part: the training center is in Mexico on the Gulf coast! I began thinking that this counselling training would fit very well with what they are doing. Now, this is nothing but a dream and even at that some years down the road, but you never know.
Sounds pretty good right? Nothing idolatrous about that. But last week I was sharing this with someone and he made the suggestion that maybe we should begin a training center like that up here in cold Alberta. (Ok, he didn’t say cold) Immediately my stomach dropped and my heart said “Noooo!” In that moment I knew that I had allowed that dream to begin to become an idol.
So how do you not let good things become idols? The first step is to identify your idols and admit they are there. If you are a Jesus Follower your deepest desire is to find your ultimate fulfillment in Jesus. It’s there because he put it there. Confess your idolatry and he will help you restore your desires to their rightful priority.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

2 responses to “Life would be great if only. . .

Leave a Reply

