More Than Just Thank-You

I’ve had a set of “memory foam” insoles in my work boots for almost a year.  Not suprisingly they are worn out.  They have been very comfortable until now but the fabric on top is wore through and balls up under my foot and little bits of blue foam stick to my socks.  I’ve been too busy to get anywhere to replace them so as a stop-gap measure I took the regular insoles from another pair of shoes and put them in my work boots over top of the memory foam.

You may think this is going to sound weird and maybe not even believe me, but I swear I felt taller.  No really.  I know there was maybe not even an eighth of an inch added but when I put them on I could tell that I was standing just a little taller.  But as the day went on, and I got accustomed to the new heights I’d reached that awareness began to fade.  By the end of the day I didn’t notice it at all.  The next day I noticed the difference a little at first, but not nearly as profoundly as when I had first put them in.  By the third day I had almost forgotten they were there.

That’s human nature.  God brings into our lives some blessing, maybe it’s the job we have, or the relationships we’re in, it could be the church he’s provided us, or even the awareness of his presence with us, but some expression of his love for us.  At first we are profoundly aware of that blessing and being thankful is a natural response, but we become accustomed to the blessings presence in our live and begin to take it for granted.

Thankfulness is a choice, and if we choose it consistently enough it becomes a way of life.  But thankfulness isn’t just remembering to say thank you when good things happen.  Living in an attitude of thankfulness is saying “God I acknowledge that I have received my life from you through Jesus, and in response I submit my life to you in order that Jesus may live through me (see Galatians 2:20).  I accept as from your hand all that you allow into my life.  Even when life is hard, or others mistreat me I trust you to sustain me, knowing that nothing can remove me from your life and love.”

Happy Thanksgiving!

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

One response to “More Than Just Thank-You

Leave a Reply

