The Fruit and Effect of Righteousness

“The fruit of righteousness will be peace; the effect of righteousness will be quietness and confidence forever.”  (Isa 32:17, NIV)  Does peace, quietness and confidence consistently define your state of mind and heart.  You might conclude, based on the above verse that it would be dependent on whether or not you have been a good boy or girl, but that’s a misunderstanding of righteousness.

2 Corinthians 5:21 shows that righteousness is not dependant on what I do, but is given to me by God through Jesus; he became sin for me and in exchange I become the righteousness of God.  Therefore my peace, quietness and confidence are dependent upon whether I am submitting to God’s righteousness in me; am I letting God be God in this day or have I usurped control?

 Last week our youngest had an opportunity to attend a neighboring church’s youth group activity.  As he is the extent of our own church’s youth group, I thought this was an excellent idea and was pleased that he wanted to go.  The only issue was going to be the timing of getting him there.  They were to meet at 6:00 and he had football practice till 5:30, but that should be just enough time to get him there.

I had one large field I needed to cultivate that day, but figured I should finish in plenty of time to pick Riley up.   Unfortunately there was a heavy fog and since a tractor doesn’t exactly have a jackrabbit-like start,  I couldn’t safely cross the highway to get to the field until the fog lifted.  Instead I began a smaller field beside the farm yard till the fog finally burned off near 11:00.  It would be tight, but I should still be able to make it in time.

I got into the field and as the day progressed my anxiousness to finish in time began to grow.  Right then God spoke very clearly to my heart saying to relax, that whatever would be would be and it would be just fine.  “But no,” I said, “this is important and I can’t let Riley down.”  And my anxiety grew.

I was almost done when the cultivator plugged.  Aargh! I lifted out and circled but still had to stop and back up to unplug it, and  then circle a couple more times to spread out the lump.  I finally finished and quickly cleaned off all the weeds and dirt lumps from the cultivator, folded it up and headed back to the farm.  I arrived at the highway right at the peak of “rush-hour” and wasted more precious minutes waiting for a gap big enough to safely get through fretting all the more.

I got back to the yard, parked and jumped out of the tractor, raced to my truck, sent Riley a quick text that I was on my way, and was just about to drive away when he texted back that he had too much homework and couldn’t go.

Immediately I realized I had stopped letting God be God.  “The fruit of righteousness will be peace; the effect of righteousness will be quietness and confidence forever.”

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

