Chemical Residue

Dandelions are an amazing plant.   They have spread to virtually everywhere in the world because of their hardiness and adaptability.  But I still don’t want them in my lawn! I have been using one of those weed removers that takes a plug out with the weed, but there were so many and my lawn was beginning to look like a miniature war zone full of little craters.  So with dandelion destruction in mind I acquired some good herbicide and engaged in some chemical warfare to combat the invader.

I sprayed and sat back, eager to see the first evidence of the carnage.

Well carnage came alright, but it wasn’t limited to the dandelions.  My grass in the front lawn began to crisp.  At first I wasn’t too concerned thinking that a little setback for the grass would be well worth the major hit the dandelions would take.  But the grass just kept on browning, and worse, in strips.  You can see exactly where I overlapped in spraying because it is much worse.

The back yard isn’t nearly so bad which had me confused for a while till I figured out what must have gone wrong.  The sprayer I used had previously had Round-up in it, which most of you know does a great job killing grass.  I had double rinsed it but there must have been some residue left.  I didn’t put enough chemical in for the whole yard initially and had to refill to finish the back yard, which explains why most of it is fine.

There is a spiritual lesson in all this.  Tolerating even a little sin your life will bring damage.  I’m not even thinking so much of “little white lies” or such.  Far more subtle and devious is self-will because we can fool ourselves by packaging it in things that, in and of themselves, are not sinful.  But when I set my will ahead of God’s will, no matter how innocuous it may seem, it is sin and will inhibit my relationship to God.

A healthy relationship with God requires that every part of my heart and will are submitted to him.  It’s not that he gets mad brings destruction if I’m not fully submitted.  But like that little bit of round-up, when I hold some self-determination my choices adversely affect my spiritual health.  If I had completely removed the round-up, the lawn would be healthy.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

