Eternity Eyes

An elderly friend of mine used to say to me, “Oh David, don’t get old.  It’s no fun at all.”  I am by no means there yet, but I’m beginning to understand what he was talking about.  Recently I was driving to Calgary on a particularly sunny day and it seemed that the right lens of my sunglasses was smudged.  I took them off to clean them and realized it was my eye that was the problem.  My left eye is sharp, but the right eye is somewhat cloudy.

An informal diagnosis by a friend who has some experience in ophthalmology suggested I may have juvenile cataract.   Apparently it may be treatable at some point in the future, but prior to finding that out I wondered at what some of the consequences of failing vision might be.  Even now cloudy vision in my shooting eye is going to be a blessing to gophers, but a frustration to me.  If it continues to get cloudier will it affect my ability to drive?  I love snorkelling or diving but if I can’t see there’s not a lot of point in going underwater.

All of these considerations and more went through my mind as I continued my trip to Calgary.  But it wasn’t with any anxiety at all.  It was more a “hmm, I wonder” kind of contemplation.  Here’s why.  In all honesty and humility, the overriding thought in all of this was,” oh well, I can put up with this for the next twenty or forty years, however long I live, because I know that after that it will be better than ever.”  Seriously, that was my thought and attitude.  It’s perspective Paul  expresses in 1 Corinthians 4.  He says that while our bodies are wasting away, our spirits are being renewed daily.

He described the troubles we go through now as “light and momentary” when we look at them with an eternal perspective, and believe me, his troubles were much worse than cloudy eyesight.  He says we fix our eyes not on what is seen but on the unseen, because the seen is temporary while the unseen is eternal.

So how does one gain an eternal perspective?  It begins by entering into a relationship with one who is only seen by faith, Jesus Christ.  And it grows and strengthens in direct connection with the growth and strength of that relationship.  Feel free to contact me if you want help developing an eternal perspective.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

