Treasure Hunters

Well, after writing about growing old last week I sure feel like I am.  I spent the last week working out a big knot in my back, and this morning I woke up with different one.  I’m breaking down faster than I can get fixed!  But at least I’m growing up.  I know this because I was reading something that I wrote a while back and it wasn’t communicated well so I’ve reworked it.

In Matthew chapter 6 Jesus, in essence, says that your heart is going to be with whatever you treasure most.  That may sound like he is stating the obvious, but it really hits hard when put together with what comes just before this.  He says, again in essence, where I put most of my time and energy and focus is where my treasure is going to be.  And wherever my treasure is, that is what I will come to care about most.

Before I get to what Jesus was primarily getting at, let me examine this as a general life principle.  Reflect on your life for a moment.  Where is the majority of your time and energy focused?  Is it in your career, or the accumulation of things?  Maybe it’s in trying to make yourself secure or happy?  Maybe it’s even religious activity?  Remember the principle.  Are those the things that you care about most?  Or is it relationship; your husband or wife, your children or neighbours?  Think about it.  Where are you storing your treasure at?  Wherever it is, your heart will follow.

On that note, let me explain the principal point Jesus was making.  If we store our treasure in anything here, wealth, happines, power, status, etc. ultimately we will lose it.  If instead we pursue things of eternal nature, well, they’re eternal.  This is the same passage where he said we should seek the kingdom of God and his righteousness first, and all these other things will be added.  What does it mean to seek first the kingdom of God?  Very simply, make knowing Jesus your top priority, and then allow his nature and character to be expressed through your life.  If you do this all your other needs will be worked out.  That’s not saying that life will be easy, you will never suffer of struggle and that things will work out exactly how you want.  But it will work out according to God’s way and wisdom and I guarantee you that your treasure will be safe.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

