Growing Up or Just Old

I like that old saying “Growing old is mandatory. Growing up is optional.” Of course that can be taken two ways. It is good to maintain a childlike wonder and enthusiasm for life, but it’s pathetic when a person refuses to mature beyond a Junior High level. Admittedly most men revert back occasionally, but c’mon guys, let’s not stay there! But it is especially sad when this saying is true of a person’s spiritual life. (Read 1Corinthians 3:1-3 and Hebrews 5:11-14)

In Matthew 16 Jesus is explaining to his followers that soon he will have to suffer many things and ultimately be killed, but then be raised to life after three days. This didn’t fit with how Peter, still immature in his spiritual life, had envisioned things working out and he said, in essence, “No Jesus, you are wrong.” Imagine the audacity to tell God he is wrong about what path my life should take. But every one of us has done so.

It was after this exchange that Jesus said that anyone who wants to be a Christ Follower must deny him or herself. Denying yourself doesn’t simply mean giving something up, like giving up chocolate, it means giving everything up. Every right or claim on your life is relinquished to Jesus. Many of us have said we will live our lives for Jesus, but in doing so we still retain the right to choose how our life should look. It is like a parent saying they live their life for their child. The parent’s life is certainly dedicated to the wellbeing of their child, but the parent makes all the choices for how they will serve the child.

Many of us act like the parent in our relationship to Jesus. Ironically, we only begin to mature when we become the child and abandon all rights to our lives to our heavenly Father. Deny ourselves. Everything from what my career should be (regardless of what stage of life I am at), and where I will live right down to what should I pray about today.

How long I have been a Christian, how often I go to church, how much education I have, even how many times I have read the Bible are all irrelevant to whether I have grown up or just grown old spiritually. The only way to maturity is to deny myself, take up my cross and follow Jesus.

About David Berg

I live in a small town in Alberta, Canada. I pastor a small Baptist church and also work half-time on a local seed farm. It has been more than 25 years that I have been married to a most amazing and beautiful lady whose name is Wendy. Together we have three boys, and two beautiful daughter-in-laws. View all posts by David Berg

Leave a Reply

